Milk Sampler Occupational Licensing
License required in 43 states
95th most burdensome licensing requirements among moderate-income occupations
Average Fee for License:$24
What They Do
Milk samplers collect milk samples from farms, dairy plants, and tank cars and trucks for laboratory analysis. They remove samples from bulk tanks, tankers or milking machines, using a dipper or pipette, and pour samples into sterile bottles. They weigh samples, label bottles with origin of sample, pack samples in dry ice, and transport samples to laboratory for bacteriological and butterfat content analysis. They also contact potential customers to explain the benefits of a testing program to sell milk-testing services and may assist customers in interpreting sample test results to maximize benefits to customers. They may also maintain individual milk production records for each cow in a customer’s herd.[c]Adapted from http://www.occupationalinfo.org/41/410357010.html[/c]
Milk Sampler Licensing Overview
Forty-three states (more than half of states) require a licence to work as a Milk Sampler. On average, these laws require $24 in fees, 0 days of education and about 1 exam. Milk Sampler Licenses have the 95th most burdensome requirements of the 102 occupations studied.
Where is a Milk Sampler the most regulated?
Out of the 43 states that require an occupational license, an occupational license for a Milk Sampler has the highest burden in Kentucky. Kentucky requires $15 in fees, 1 exams, no experience, and 6.75 clock hours education.
Where is a Milk Sampler the least regulated?
Out of the 43 states that require an occupational license, an occupational license for a Milk Sampler has the lowest burden in Maine. Maine requires $1 in fees, no exams, no experience, and no education.
Where is a Milk Sampler license the most expensive?
An occupational license for a Milk Sampler costs the most in Utah. Utah requires $100 in fees, no exams, no experience, and no education.
Where is a Milk Sampler license the least expensive?
An occupational license for a Milk Sampler costs the least in Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Louisiana, Mississippi, New Jersey, New Mexico, South Carolina, Texas, Virginia where the license costs $0.
Where does it take the longest to obtain a Milk Sampler license?
An occupational license for a Milk Sampler takes the longest to obtain in Iowa, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, North Dakota, New Mexico.It takes 1 days (0 years and 1 days).
Where is it fastest to obtain a Milk Sampler license?
An occupational license for a Milk Sampler takes the least time to obtain in Arkansas, Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Massachusetts, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana, North Carolina, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, Nevada, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Vermont, Washington, Wisconsin, West Virginia (0 days).
What states require exams for a Milk Sampler license?
To obtain an occupational license for a Milk Sampler there is at least one exam required in: Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, Nevada, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Vermont, Wisconsin, West Virginia. California, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, New Jersey, Oregon, South Dakota, Texas, Wisconsin require 2 exams.
Forty-two states license milk samplers. While most states (33) require no education or experience, nine states require between one and two days of education or experience. (See Appendix B for details on education and experience requirements.) In contrast, almost all states (36) require one or two exams, while six states require none. Fees range from $0 in 11 states to $75 in California. On average, licensed states require aspiring milk samplers to pay $22 in fees and pass one exam—the 96th most burdensome requirements of the 102 occupations studied. However, because the occupation is licensed by most states, it ranks as the 31st most widely and onerously licensed.
States Ranked by Average Licensing Burden for 102 Lower-Income Occupations
More Burdensome Less BurdensomeBased on data released in November 2022
|Burden Rank||State||Occupations Licensed||Fees||Estimated Calendar Days Lost||Education||Experience||Exams||Minimum Grade||Minimum Age|
|9||Illinois||41||$25||0.10||0.75 clock hours||None||2||0||0|
|3||Indiana||37||$0||1||0.5 clock hours||1 days||2||0||0|
|8||Kansas||35||$35||0.20||1 clock hours||None||1||0||0|
|1||Kentucky||38||$15||1||6.75 clock hours||None||1||0||0|
|5||North Dakota||65||$10||1||1 days||None||1||0||0|
|6||New Mexico||66||$0||1||1 days||None||1||0||0|
License to Work
The data and information here come from IJ’s License to Work report, released in November 2022.View Report