× ABOUT OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING OCCUPATIONS STATE PROFILES STORIES ABOUT IJ

Wildlife Control Operator

License required in 23 states

88th most burdensome licensing requirements among moderate-income occupations

74th most heavily regulated occupation among moderate-income occupations

What They Do

Wildlife control operators take or trap, transport, and release wildlife when it becomes a nuisance, destroys property or threatens public safety.[c]Adapted from http://www.dec.ny.gov/permits/28635.html[/c]

Licensing

Twenty-three states require a license to work as a wildlife control operator. On average, these laws require $68 in fees and about one exam—the 88th most burdensome requirements of the 102 occupations studied here. Because about half of states license wildlife control operators, the occupation ranks as the 74th most widely and onerously licensed.

While most states (19) require one written exam, Iowa requires two: a written exam and an in-person interview with a representative of the Iowa Department of Natural Resources. Alaska, Nevada and New Hampshire require no exams. Additionally, while 15 states require no education or experience, eight require anywhere from one to 16 hours of education. Fees range from $0 in Illinois, Indiana, Kansas and Virginia to $250 in Connecticut and Nevada.

License to Work

The data and information here come from IJ’s License to Work report, released in November 2017.

States Ranked by Average Licensing Burden for 102 Lower-Income Occupations

More Burdensome Less Burdensom
Based on data released in November 2017

State Licensing Requirements

Select a chart to view:
Burden Rank State States Licensed Fees Estimated Calendar Days Lost Education Experience Exams Minimum Grade Minimum Age
1 Oklahoma 23 $75 3 16 clock hours 1 0 18
2 Washington 23 $50 2 10 clock hours 1 0 18
3 Louisiana 23 $40 2 10 clock hours 1 0 18
4 Connecticut 23 $250 1 8.5 clock hours 1 0 0
5 Kansas 23 $0 1 8 clock hours 1 0 16
6 Massachusetts 23 $136 1 1 days 1 0 0
7 New Hampshire 23 $101 1 6 clock hours 0 0 0
8 D C 23 $50 0 1 clock hours 1 0 18
9 Iowa 23 $25 0 2 0 18
10 Kentucky 23 $100 0 1 0 18
11 West Virginia 23 $50 0 1 0 18
12 Georgia 23 $35 0 1 0 18
13 Rhode Island 23 $10 0 1 0 18
14 Illinois 23 $0 0 1 0 18
15 Nevada 23 $250 0 0 0 0
16 Oregon 23 $85 0 1 0 0
17 Pennsylvania 23 $75 0 1 0 0
18 Alaska 23 $100 0 0 0 18
19 Maryland 23 $50 0 1 0 0
19 New York 23 $50 0 1 0 0
21 Ohio 23 $40 0 1 0 0
22 Indiana 23 $0 0 1 0 0
22 Virginia 23 $0 0 1 0 0