Animal Control Officer
License required in 7 states
93rd most burdensome licensing requirements among moderate-income occupations
85th most heavily regulated occupation among moderate-income occupations
What They DoAnimal control officers handle animals in order to investigate mistreatment or to control abandoned, dangerous or unattended animals.
Seven states require a license to work as an animal control officer. On average, these laws require $26 in fees, 12 days of education and about one written exam—the 93rd most burdensome requirements of the 102 occupations studied. Also, because animal control officers are not widely licensed, the occupation ranks as the 85th most widely and onerously licensed.
Fees range from $0 in four states to $75 in Texas. And although all seven states require education, the hours range from 12 in Texas to 100 in Michigan. Florida, Texas and Wisconsin also require passage of at least one exam.
States Ranked by Average Licensing Burden for 102 Lower-Income Occupations
More Burdensome Less BurdensomBased on data released in November 2017
|Burden Rank||State||States Licensed||Fees||Estimated Calendar Days Lost||Education||Experience||Exams||Minimum Grade||Minimum Age|
|1||Michigan||7||$0||23||100 clock hours||0||0||0|
|2||Virginia||7||$0||20||84 clock hours||0||0||0|
|3||New Jersey||7||$0||11||45 clock hours||0||0||18|
|4||Maine||7||$50||11||45 clock hours||0||0||0|
|5||Wisconsin||7||$60||9||40 clock hours||1||0||0|
|6||Florida||7||$0||9||40 clock hours||1||0||0|
|7||Texas||7||$75||2||12 clock hours||2||0||0|