Weigher Occupational Licensing
License required in 24 states
92nd most burdensome licensing requirements among moderate-income occupations
Average Fee for License:$68
What They Do
Weighers, weighmasters or public weighers weigh or measure bulk commodities and issue certificates of accuracy.[c]Adapted from http://www.cdfa.ca.gov/dms/programs/wm/wm.html[/c]
Weigher Licensing Overview
Twenty-four states require a licence to work as a Weigher. On average, these laws require $68 in fees, 0 days of education and no exams. Weigher Licenses have the 92nd most burdensome requirements of the 102 occupations studied.
Where is a Weigher the most regulated?
Out of the 24 states that require an occupational license, an occupational license for a Weigher has the highest burden in New Hampshire. New Hampshire requires $116 in fees, 1 exams, no experience, and no education.
Where is a Weigher the least regulated?
Out of the 24 states that require an occupational license, an occupational license for a Weigher has the lowest burden in South Carolina. South Carolina requires $5 in fees, no exams, no experience, and no education.
Where is a Weigher license the most expensive?
An occupational license for a Weigher costs the most in Texas. Texas requires $500 in fees, no exams, no experience, and no education.
Where is a Weigher license the least expensive?
An occupational license for a Weigher costs the least in South Carolina. South Carolina requires $5 in fees, no exams, no experience, and no education.
Where does it take the longest to obtain a Weigher license?
Out of the 24 states that require an occupational license, none impose any time lost due to required education/experience.
Where is it fastest to obtain a Weigher license?
An occupational license for a Weigher takes the least time to obtain in Alabama, Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Hawaii, Louisiana, Maine, Mississippi, North Carolina, New Hampshire, New Mexico, Nevada, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Vermont, Washington (0 days).
What states require exams for a Weigher license?
To obtain an occupational license for a Weigher there is at least one exam required in: Arizona, Colorado, Hawaii, Louisiana, New Hampshire, Nevada.
Twenty-five states require a license of those who weigh bulk commodities for a living. Licensing requirements are somewhat consistent across states, with no states requiring any education or experience. In addition, most states (21) require fees of $75 or less, though Texas requires $500. On average, aspiring weighers must pay a fee of $62—the 91st most burdensome requirements of the 102 occupations studied here. However, because half of states license it, the occupation ranks as the 73rd most widely and onerously licensed.
States Ranked by Average Licensing Burden for 102 Lower-Income Occupations
More Burdensome Less BurdensomeBased on data released in November 2022
|Burden Rank||State||Occupations Licensed||Fees||Estimated Calendar Days Lost||Education||Experience||Exams||Minimum Grade||Minimum Age|
License to Work
The data and information here come from IJ’s License to Work report, released in November 2022.View Report