Auctioneer Occupational Licensing
License required in 28 states
71st most burdensome licensing requirements among moderate-income occupations
Average Fee for License:$286
What They Do
Auctioneers appraise and estimate the value of items, such as paintings, antiques, jewelry, cameras, musical instruments, machinery and fixtures for loan, insurance or sale purposes and may sell merchandise at auction.[c]Adapted from http://www.occupationalinfo.org/onet/49999a.html[/c]
Auctioneer Licensing Overview
Twenty-eight states (more than half of states) require a licence to work as an Auctioneer. On average, these laws require $286 in fees, 68 days of education and about 1 exam. Auctioneer Licenses have the 71st most burdensome requirements of the 102 occupations studied.
Where is an Auctioneer the most regulated?
Out of the 28 states that require an occupational license, an occupational license for a Auctioneer has the highest burden in Kentucky. Kentucky requires $560 in fees, 2 exams, 1 year experience, and 92 clock hours education.
Where is an Auctioneer the least regulated?
Out of the 28 states that require an occupational license, an occupational license for a Auctioneer has the lowest burden in Missouri. Missouri requires $52 in fees, no exams, no experience, and no education.
Where is an Auctioneer license the most expensive?
An occupational license for a Auctioneer costs the most in Tennessee. Tennessee requires $800 in fees, 2 exams, 6 months experience, and 50 clock hours education.
Where is an Auctioneer license the least expensive?
An occupational license for a Auctioneer costs the least in Minnesota. Minnesota requires $20 in fees, no exams, no experience, and no education.
Where does it take the longest to obtain an Auctioneer license?
An occupational license for a Auctioneer takes the longest to obtain in Kentucky. It takes 386 days (1 years and 21 days). Kentucky requires $560 in fees, 2 exams, 1 year experience, and 92 clock hours education.
Where is it fastest to obtain an Auctioneer license?
An occupational license for a Auctioneer takes the least time to obtain in Arkansas, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Minnesota, Missouri, Washington, Wisconsin (0 days).
What states require exams for an Auctioneer license?
To obtain an occupational license for an Auctioneer there is at least one exam required in: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Maine, Mississippi, North Carolina, New Hampshire, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Wisconsin, West Virginia. Alabama, Ohio, West Virginia require 3 exams.
Thirty states require a license to work as an auctioneer. On average, these laws cost aspiring auctioneers $278 in fees and 94 days in education and experience and require them to pass an exam—the 68th most burdensome requirements of the 102 occupations studied. However, because auctioneers are licensed by more than half of states, the occupation ranks as the 47th most widely and onerously licensed.
License requirements vary widely across states. Tennessee has the most burdensome requirements at about 756 days lost to education and experience (two years of experience as an apprentice and 110 hours of auction education), two exams, and $750 in fees. At the other end of the spectrum, Missouri requires only payment of a $52 fee. Fourteen states require education (between about seven and 140 days) and no experience, while 11 states require no education or experience at all.
States Ranked by Average Licensing Burden for 102 Lower-Income Occupations
More Burdensome Less BurdensomeBased on data released in November 2022
|Burden Rank||State||Occupations Licensed||Fees||Estimated Calendar Days Lost||Education||Experience||Exams||Minimum Grade||Minimum Age|
|2||Alabama||63||$540||385||85 clock hours||1 years||3||0||19|
|20||District of Columbia||61||$740||0||None||None||0||0||18|
|11||Florida||55||$445||19||80 clock hours||None||1||0||18|
|7||Georgia||41||$420||19||80 clock hours||None||1||12||18|
|17||Indiana||37||$105||19||80 clock hours||None||1||0||18|
|1||Kentucky||38||$560||386||92 clock hours||1 years||2||12||18|
|14||Louisiana||77||$300||19||80 clock hours||None||1||0||18|
|16||Massachusetts||50||$100||19||83 clock hours||None||1||0||18|
|8||North Carolina||66||$338||19||80 clock hours||None||1||12||18|
|21||North Dakota||65||$50||14||60 clock hours||None||0||0||18|
|15||New Hampshire||37||$275||19||80 clock hours||None||1||0||18|
|3||Ohio||40||$240||379||10 days||1 years||3||0||18|
|6||Pennsylvania||50||$277||140||20 credit hours||None||1||0||0|
|12||South Carolina||60||$435||19||80 clock hours||None||1||0||18|
|4||Tennessee||69||$800||193||50 clock hours||6 months||2||12||18|
|9||Texas||38||$152||19||80 clock hours||None||1||12||18|
|18||Virginia||72||$65||19||80 clock hours||None||1||0||18|
|25||Vermont||31||$100||9||40 clock hours||None||0||0||0|
|5||West Virginia||67||$250||202||87.5 clock hours||6 months||3||0||18|
License to Work
The data and information here come from IJ’s License to Work report, released in November 2022.View Report