× ABOUT OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING OCCUPATIONS STATE PROFILES STORIES ABOUT IJ

Mobile Home Installer

License required in 39 states

48th most burdensome licensing requirements among moderate-income occupations

29th most heavily regulated occupation among moderate-income occupations

What They Do

Mobile home installers move or install manufactured (mobile) homes.

Licensing

Thirty-nine states require mobile home installers to obtain licenses.1 On average, these laws require $344 in fees, 309 days of education and experience, and around one exam—the 48th most burdensome requirements of the 102 occupations studied. And because the occupation is licensed by most states, it ranks as the 29th most widely and onerously licensed.

License requirements vary greatly. While Arizona, California and South Dakota all require three years or more of education and experience, six states require none at all. Similarly, six states require two exams, but Indiana, New Hampshire and Oklahoma require none. Fees also vary widely, from $25 in Tennessee to $2,790 in Arkansas. Arkansas’ fees are so high because the state requires a $2,500 recovery fund fee.

License to Work

The data and information here come from IJ’s License to Work report, released in November 2017.

States Ranked by Average Licensing Burden for 102 Lower-Income Occupations

More Burdensome Less Burdensom
Based on data released in November 2017

State Licensing Requirements

Select a chart to view:
Burden Rank State States Licensed Fees Estimated Calendar Days Lost Education Experience Exams Minimum Grade Minimum Age
1 California 39 $529 1460 4 years 2 0 18
2 South Dakota 39 $405 1095 3 years 2 0 0
3 Arizona 39 $454 1096 8 clock hours 3 years 1 0 0
4 New York 39 $200 733 16 clock hours 2 years 1 12 0
5 Utah 39 $549 733 20 clock hours 2 years 2 0 0
6 Kansas 39 $300 731 8 clock hours 2 years 1 0 18
7 Virginia 39 $235 731 8 clock hours 2 years 1 0 18
8 South Carolina 39 $150 731 8 clock hours 2 years 1 0 18
9 Maine 39 $121 731 5 clock hours 2 years 1 0 18
10 Nevada 39 $553 730 2 years 1 0 0
11 New Hampshire 39 $75 731 6 clock hours 2 years 0 0 18
12 Oregon 39 $440 376 16 clock hours 1600 clock hours 2 0 18
13 Ohio 39 $350 367 12 clock hours 1 years 1 0 18
14 Iowa 39 $300 366 8 clock hours 1 years 1 0 18
15 Louisiana 39 $251 366 1 days 1 years 1 0 0
16 Indiana 39 $150 366 8 clock hours 1 year(s) 0 0 18
17 Colorado 39 $100 183 8 clock hours 6 months 1 0 18
18 Arkansas 39 $2,790 92 1 days 3 jobs, mobile home installers 1 0 0
19 North Dakota 39 $200 153 6 clock hours 5 jobs, mobile home installers 1 0 18
20 Washington 39 $260 184 10 clock hours 6 months 1 0 0
21 Kentucky 39 $100 87 15 clock hours 60 days 1 0 0
22 West Virginia 39 $709 0 2 0 0
23 Minnesota 39 $383 0 2 0 0
24 Florida 39 $300 2 12 clock hours 1 0 18
25 Delaware 39 $238 3 15 clock hours 1 0 18
26 Idaho 39 $220 0 1 0 18
27 Illinois 39 $150 2 10 clock hours 1 0 18
28 Missouri 39 $150 1 8 clock hours 1 0 18
29 Wisconsin 39 $115 2 12 clock hours 1 0 18
30 Texas 39 $591 2 12 clock hours 1 0 0
31 Alabama 39 $400 2 12 clock hours 1 0 0
32 Pennsylvania 39 $350 3 15 clock hours 1 0 0
33 Georgia 39 $300 1 1 days 1 0 0
34 New Mexico 39 $269 0 1 0 0
35 North Carolina 39 $250 0 1 0 0
36 Michigan 39 $150 1 8 clock hours 1 0 0
37 Mississippi 39 $100 0 1 0 0
38 Tennessee 39 $25 3 15 clock hours 1 0 0
39 Oklahoma 39 $200 1 8 clock hours 0 0 0