Landscape Contractor (Residential) Occupational Licensing
License required in 48 states
67th most burdensome licensing requirements among moderate-income occupations
Average Fee for License:$214
What They Do
Landscape contractors contract with clients to landscape or maintain grounds of property using hand or power tools or equipment. Work may involve any of the following: sod laying, mowing, trimming, planting, watering, fertilizing, digging, raking, and installing sprinklers or mortarless segmental concrete masonry wall units. Typically, only contractors require licenses, not the landscapers who work for them. In some states, licensing requirements differ based on the setting. Those with a residential license may work only on residential properties, while those with a commercial license may work on commercial properties. Other states require the same license regardless of the setting, and this report records that license in both settings. Many states have contract minimums before the contractor’s license applies. See Appendix B for details.
Landscape Contractor (Residential) Licensing Overview
Forty-eight states (more than half of states) require a licence to work as a Landscape Contractor (Residential). On average, these laws require $214 in fees, 175 days of education and no exams. Landscape Contractor (Residential) Licenses have the 67th most burdensome requirements of the 102 occupations studied. Fees for a license exceed $1000 in Nevada, Oregon.
Where is a Landscape Contractor (Residential) the most regulated?
Out of the 48 states that require an occupational license, an occupational license for a Landscape Contractor (Residential) has the highest burden in Nevada. Nevada requires $1215 in fees, 2 exams, 4 years experience, and no education.
Where is a Landscape Contractor (Residential) the least regulated?
Out of the 48 states that require an occupational license, an occupational license for a Landscape Contractor (Residential) have the lowest burden in Connecticut, Delaware
Where is a Landscape Contractor (Residential) license the most expensive?
An occupational license for a Landscape Contractor (Residential) costs the most in Nevada. Nevada requires $1215 in fees, 2 exams, 4 years experience, and no education.
Where is a Landscape Contractor (Residential) license the least expensive?
An occupational license for a Landscape Contractor (Residential) costs the least in Connecticut, Delaware, Mississippi where the license costs $0.
Where does it take the longest to obtain a Landscape Contractor (Residential) license?
An occupational license for a Landscape Contractor (Residential) takes the longest to obtain in Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada.It takes 1460 days (4 years).
Where is it fastest to obtain a Landscape Contractor (Residential) license?
An occupational license for a Landscape Contractor (Residential) takes the least time to obtain in Alaska, Alabama, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Washington, Wisconsin, West Virginia, Wyoming (0 days).
What states require exams for a Landscape Contractor (Residential) license?
To obtain an occupational license for a Landscape Contractor (Residential) there is at least one exam required in: Alabama, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Nevada, Oregon, Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia. California requires 3 exams.
Forty-eight states license landscape contractors working on residential properties. On average, states require 198 days in education and experience and $203 in fees. Thirteen states also require at least one exam (California requires three). These requirements rank as the 66th most burdensome.
States Ranked by Average Licensing Burden for 102 Lower-Income Occupations
More Burdensome Less BurdensomeBased on data released in November 2022
|Burden Rank||State||Occupations Licensed||Fees||Estimated Calendar Days Lost||Education||Experience||Exams||Minimum Grade||Minimum Age|
|17||District of Columbia||61||$442||0||None||None||0||0||0|
|16||Utah||64||$445||4||25 clock hours||None||0||0||0|
|7||Virginia||72||$320||731||8 clock hours||2 years||1||0||18|
License to Work
The data and information here come from IJ’s License to Work report, released in November 2022.View Report