× ABOUT OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING OCCUPATIONS STATE PROFILES STORIES ABOUT IJ

Slot Supervisor

License required in 28 states

82nd most burdensome licensing requirements among moderate-income occupations

62nd most heavily regulated occupation among moderate-income occupations

What They Do

Slot supervisors or slot key persons supervise and coordinate activities of slot machine workers to provide service to patrons, handle and settle players’ complaints, and verify and report payoff jackpots. This report looks at the requirements for supervisors or key employees only, not those for the slot machine technicians working under them.

Licensing

Twenty-eight states require a license to work as a slot supervisor. On average, these laws require a fee of $467. In addition, about two-thirds of states (19) set a minimum age of either 18 or 21. These requirements make the slot supervisor occupation the 82nd most burdensome of the 102 occupations studied here. However, because slot supervisors are licensed by over half of states, the occupation ranks as the 62nd most widely and onerously licensed.

License fees vary greatly across states, from $0 in Connecticut to $3,150 in California. Nine states have fees totaling $500 or more (five states have fees totaling $1,000 or more). Fees are so high because some states—including California, Colorado and Massachusetts—require large initial deposits ($2,400, $1,000 and $1,000, respectively) for background checks. After completing the background check, the state returns anything remaining of the deposit.

License to Work

The data and information here come from IJ’s License to Work report, released in November 2017.

States Ranked by Average Licensing Burden for 102 Lower-Income Occupations

More Burdensome Less Burdensom
Based on data released in November 2017

State Licensing Requirements

Select a chart to view:
Burden Rank State States Licensed Fees Estimated Calendar Days Lost Education Experience Exams Minimum Grade Minimum Age
1 California 28 $3,150 0 0 0 21
2 Colorado 28 $1,275 0 0 0 21
3 Illinois 28 $1,050 0 0 0 21
4 Missouri 28 $1,100 0 0 0 18
5 Massachusetts 28 $1,000 0 0 0 18
6 Michigan 28 $750 0 0 0 21
7 Ohio 28 $500 0 0 0 21
8 Louisiana 28 $200 0 0 0 21
9 Pennsylvania 28 $350 0 0 0 18
10 South Dakota 28 $111 0 0 0 21
11 Indiana 28 $100 0 0 0 21
11 West Virginia 28 $100 0 0 0 21
13 Florida 28 $89 0 0 0 21
14 Arkansas 28 $75 0 0 0 21
14 Mississippi 28 $75 0 0 0 21
14 Nevada 28 $75 0 0 0 21
14 New Mexico 28 $75 0 0 0 21
18 Arizona 28 $250 0 0 0 18
19 Iowa 28 $68 0 0 0 18
20 New Jersey 28 $750 0 0 0 0
21 Delaware 28 $569 0 0 0 0
22 Maryland 28 $437 0 0 0 0
23 Rhode Island 28 $300 0 0 0 0
24 Maine 28 $299 0 0 0 0
25 Oklahoma 28 $166 0 0 0 0
26 New York 28 $105 0 0 0 0
27 Kansas 28 $60 0 0 0 0
28 Connecticut 28 $0 0 0 0 0