Gaming Cage Worker Occupational Licensing
License required in 30 states
84th most burdensome licensing requirements among moderate-income occupations
Average Fee for License:$153
What They Do
Gaming cage workers, also known as casino cashiers or cage supervisors, conduct financial transactions for patrons in gaming establishments. They may reconcile daily summaries of transactions to balance books; accept patrons’ credit applications and verify credit references to provide check-cashing authorization or to establish house credit accounts; sell gambling chips, tokens or tickets to patrons or to other workers for resale to patrons; and convert gaming chips, tokens or tickets to currency upon a patron’s request.
Gaming Cage Worker Licensing Overview
Thirty states (more than half of states) require a licence to work as a Gaming Cage Worker. On average, these laws require $153 in fees, 0 days of education and no exams. Gaming Cage Worker Licenses have the 84th most burdensome requirements of the 102 occupations studied.
Where is a Gaming Cage Worker the most regulated?
Out of the 30 states that require an occupational license, an occupational license for a Gaming Cage Worker has the highest burden in Virginia. Virginia requires $536 in fees, no exams, no experience, and no education.
Where is a Gaming Cage Worker the least regulated?
Out of the 30 states that require an occupational license, an occupational license for a Gaming Cage Worker has the lowest burden in Connecticut. Connecticut requires $0 in fees, no exams, no experience, and no education.
Where is a Gaming Cage Worker license the most expensive?
An occupational license for a Gaming Cage Worker costs the most in Virginia. Virginia requires $536 in fees, no exams, no experience, and no education.
Where is a Gaming Cage Worker license the least expensive?
An occupational license for a Gaming Cage Worker costs the least in Indiana, Ohio, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania, Connecticut where the license costs $0.
Where does it take the longest to obtain a Gaming Cage Worker license?
Out of the 30 states that require an occupational license, none impose any time lost due to required education/experience.
Where is it fastest to obtain a Gaming Cage Worker license?
An occupational license for a Gaming Cage Worker takes the least time to obtain in Virginia, Illinois, California, Arizona, Louisiana, Michigan, Maryland, Arkansas, Mississippi, Colorado, South Dakota, West Virginia, Missouri, Nevada, New Mexico, Maine, Iowa, Indiana, Ohio, Delaware, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania, Washington, Rhode Island, Oklahoma, Florida, New York, New Jersey, Kansas, Connecticut (0 days).
What states require exams for a Gaming Cage Worker license?
To obtain an occupational license for a Gaming Cage Worker
Twenty-nine states require a license to work as a gaming cage worker. Every state except Connecticut requires a fee, which averages $174, and about two-thirds of states (19) set a minimum age of either 18 or 21. No state requires any education or experience or exams. These requirements make the gaming cage worker occupation the 85th most burdensome of the 102 occupations studied here. However, because gaming cage workers are licensed by over half of states, the occupation ranks as the 60th most widely and onerously licensed.
States Ranked by Average Licensing Burden for 102 Lower-Income Occupations
More Burdensome Less BurdensomeBased on data released in November 2022
|Burden Rank||State||Occupations Licensed||Fees||Estimated Calendar Days Lost||Education||Experience||Exams||Minimum Grade||Minimum Age|