Fisher, Commercial Occupational Licensing
License required in 43 states
97th most burdensome licensing requirements among moderate-income occupations
Average Fee for License:$146
What They Do
Commercial fishers use nets, fishing rods, traps or other equipment to catch and gather fish or other aquatic animals from rivers, lakes or oceans for human consumption or other uses. This report looks at what is required to run one’s own commercial fishing business.
Fisher, Commercial Licensing Overview
Forty-three states (more than half of states) require a licence to work as a Fisher, Commercial. On average, these laws require $146 in fees, 0 days of education and no exams. Fisher, Commercial Licenses have the 97th most burdensome requirements of the 102 occupations studied.
Where is a Fisher, Commercial the most regulated?
Out of the 43 states that require an occupational license, an occupational license for a Fisher, Commercial has the highest burden in Connecticut. Connecticut requires $385 in fees, no exams, no experience, and no education.
Where is a Fisher, Commercial the least regulated?
Out of the 43 states that require an occupational license, an occupational license for a Fisher, Commercial has the lowest burden in Wisconsin. Wisconsin requires $2 in fees, no exams, no experience, and no education.
Where is a Fisher, Commercial license the most expensive?
An occupational license for a Fisher, Commercial costs the most in Montana, Nebraska, Nevada where the license costs $500.
Where is a Fisher, Commercial license the least expensive?
An occupational license for a Fisher, Commercial costs the least in Wisconsin. Wisconsin requires $2 in fees, no exams, no experience, and no education.
Where does it take the longest to obtain a Fisher, Commercial license?
Out of the 43 states that require an occupational license, none impose any time lost due to required education/experience.
Where is it fastest to obtain a Fisher, Commercial license?
An occupational license for a Fisher, Commercial takes the least time to obtain in Alaska, Alabama, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Iowa, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Maryland, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, Nevada, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin (0 days).
What states require exams for a Fisher, Commercial license?
To obtain an occupational license for a Fisher, Commercial
Forty-three states require commercial fishers to have a license. A fee is generally the only requirement for a license, except for in a handful of states that set a minimum age. Fees vary quite a bit, from $2 in Wisconsin to $500 in Montana and Nevada. In several states, license fees vary according to the type of fish being caught, the type of water being fished on (saltwater versus freshwater), the type of vessel being used, or the number and type of fishing tools being used (nets, traps, etc.). In such cases, when possible, the least restrictive options were observed. The average fee is $142, giving the occupation the 97th most burdensome requirements of the 102 occupations studied here. However, because it is widely licensed, commercial fisher is the 30th most widely and onerously licensed occupation.
States Ranked by Average Licensing Burden for 102 Lower-Income Occupations
More Burdensome Less BurdensomeBased on data released in November 2022
|Burden Rank||State||Occupations Licensed||Fees||Estimated Calendar Days Lost||Education||Experience||Exams||Minimum Grade||Minimum Age|
License to Work
The data and information here come from IJ’s License to Work report, released in November 2022.View Report