Barber Occupational Licensing
License required in 51 states
30th most burdensome licensing requirements among moderate-income occupations
Average Fee for License:$167
What They Do
Barbers or stylists provide barbering services, such as cutting, trimming, shampooing and styling hair, trimming beards, or giving shaves.
Barber Licensing Overview
All 50 states and D.C. require a licence to work as a Barber. On average, these laws require $167 in fees, 319 days of education and about 2 exam. Barber Licenses have the 30th most burdensome requirements of the 102 occupations studied.
Where is a Barber the most regulated?
Out of the 51 states that require an occupational license, an occupational license for a Barber has the highest burden in Nevada. Nevada requires $165 in fees, 4 exams, 18 months experience, and 1500 clock hours education.
Where is a Barber the least regulated?
Out of the 51 states that require an occupational license, an occupational license for a Barber has the lowest burden in New York. New York requires $75 in fees, 2 exams, no experience, and 291 clock hours education.
Where is a Barber license the most expensive?
An occupational license for a Barber costs the most in Kentucky. Kentucky requires $500 in fees, 2 exams, 6 months experience, and 1500 clock hours education.
Where is a Barber license the least expensive?
An occupational license for a Barber costs the least in Washington. Washington requires $25 in fees, 2 exams, no experience, and 1000 clock hours education.
Where does it take the longest to obtain a Barber license?
An occupational license for a Barber takes the longest to obtain in Nevada. It takes 896 days (2 years and 16 days). Nevada requires $165 in fees, 4 exams, 18 months experience, and 1500 clock hours education.
Where is it fastest to obtain a Barber license?
An occupational license for a Barber takes the least time to obtain in New York. It takes 68 days. New York requires $75 in fees, 2 exams, no experience, and 291 clock hours education.
What states require exams for a Barber license?
To obtain an occupational license for a Barber there is at least one exam required in: Alaska, Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Iowa, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Maryland, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, Nevada, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Vermont, Washington, Wisconsin, West Virginia, Wyoming. Nevada requires 4 exams.
All 50 states and D.C. require a license to work as a barber. On average, these laws require $154 in fees, over a year (368 days) of education and experience, and about two exams—the 34th most burdensome requirements of the 102 occupations studied. And because barbers are licensed so widely, the occupation ranks as the fifth most widely and onerously licensed.
License requirements vary widely across states. Nevada is the most burdensome state, requiring four exams, $165 in fees, and nearly 900 days of education and experience (1,500 hours of barber school and an 18-month apprenticeship). At the other end of the spectrum, New York requires three exams, $70 in fees and about 54 days of education (231 hours of coursework).
States Ranked by Average Licensing Burden for 102 Lower-Income Occupations
More Burdensome Less BurdensomeBased on data released in November 2022
|Burden Rank||State||Occupations Licensed||Fees||Estimated Calendar Days Lost||Education||Experience||Exams||Minimum Grade||Minimum Age|
|8||Alaska||64||$390||385||1650 clock hours||None||2||0||0|
|33||Alabama||63||$255||233||1000 clock hours||None||2||10||16|
|11||Arkansas||72||$125||350||1500 clock hours||None||3||8||17|
|29||Arizona||68||$300||280||1200 clock hours||None||2||10||16|
|39||California||75||$125||233||1000 clock hours||None||1||10||17|
|22||Colorado||34||$152||350||1500 clock hours||None||2||0||16|
|45||Connecticut||65||$100||233||1000 clock hours||None||1||8||0|
|10||District of Columbia||61||$230||350||1500 clock hours||None||2||10||18|
|27||Delaware||42||$218||292||1250 clock hours||None||2||10||16|
|50||Florida||55||$174||140||602 clock hours||None||1||0||16|
|16||Georgia||41||$30||350||1500 clock hours||None||2||12||16|
|24||Hawaii||64||$45||350||1500 clock hours||None||1||0||17|
|4||Iowa||71||$135||490||2100 clock hours||None||2||10||16|
|40||Idaho||66||$60||210||900 clock hours||None||3||10||17|
|17||Illinois||41||$156||350||1500 clock hours||None||1||12||16|
|23||Indiana||37||$84||350||1500 clock hours||None||2||0||18|
|26||Kansas||35||$180||280||1200 clock hours||None||3||12||16|
|3||Kentucky||38||$500||532||1500 clock hours||6 months||2||12||18|
|14||Louisiana||77||$72||350||1500 clock hours||None||2||12||18|
|41||Massachusetts||50||$164||233||1000 clock hours||None||2||0||16|
|34||Maryland||58||$50||280||1200 clock hours||None||2||0||0|
|25||Maine||46||$41||350||1500 clock hours||None||2||0||0|
|6||Michigan||48||$247||420||1800 clock hours||None||2||10||17|
|15||Minnesota||35||$160||350||1500 clock hours||None||3||10||0|
|36||Missouri||33||$158||233||1000 clock hours||None||2||10||17|
|19||Mississippi||65||$100||350||1500 clock hours||None||2||12||0|
|32||Montana||32||$129||257||1100 clock hours||None||2||12||18|
|2||North Carolina||66||$355||721||1528 clock hours||12 months||3||0||0|
|9||North Dakota||65||$100||362||1550 clock hours||None||2||12||18|
|5||Nebraska||61||$200||420||1800 clock hours||None||2||12||17|
|46||New Hampshire||37||$233||187||800 clock hours||None||2||12||16|
|42||New Jersey||54||$95||210||900 clock hours||None||2||12||17|
|30||New Mexico||66||$325||280||1200 clock hours||None||3||0||17|
|1||Nevada||75||$165||896||1500 clock hours||18 months||4||0||18|
|51||New York||41||$75||68||291 clock hours||None||2||0||17|
|7||Ohio||40||$120||420||1800 clock hours||None||2||8||18|
|18||Oklahoma||42||$60||350||1500 clock hours||None||2||8||16|
|49||Oregon||69||$120||181||786 clock hours||None||3||0||0|
|28||Pennsylvania||50||$200||292||1250 clock hours||None||2||8||16|
|12||Rhode Island||70||$100||350||1500 clock hours||None||2||12||18|
|13||South Carolina||60||$175||350||1500 clock hours||None||2||9||17|
|21||South Dakota||32||$150||350||1500 clock hours||None||2||0||18|
|20||Tennessee||69||$200||350||1501 clock hours||None||2||0||16|
|43||Texas||38||$50||233||1000 clock hours||None||2||0||16|
|47||Utah||64||$230||233||1000 clock hours||None||1||0||0|
|38||Virginia||72||$277||257||1100 clock hours||None||2||0||0|
|48||Vermont||31||$160||175||750 clock hours||None||3||12||0|
|44||Washington||76||$25||233||1000 clock hours||None||2||0||17|
|37||Wisconsin||42||$378||233||1000 clock hours||None||2||0||18|
|31||West Virginia||67||$134||280||1200 clock hours||None||2||12||18|
|35||Wyoming||26||$200||233||1000 clock hours||None||2||10||17|
License to Work
The data and information here come from IJ’s License to Work report, released in November 2022.View Report