Animal Breeder Occupational Licensing
License required in 29 states
96th most burdensome licensing requirements among moderate-income occupations
Average Fee for License:$172
What They Do
Animal breeders select and breed animals according to their genealogy, characteristics and offspring. This may require knowledge of artificial insemination techniques and equipment use and involve keeping records on heats, birth intervals or pedigrees. This report looks at pet breeder licenses only.
Animal Breeder Licensing Overview
Twenty-nine states (more than half of states) require a licence to work as an Animal Breeder. On average, these laws require $172 in fees, 0 days of education and no exams. Animal Breeder Licenses have the 96th most burdensome requirements of the 102 occupations studied.
Where is an Animal Breeder the most regulated?
Out of the 29 states that require an occupational license, an occupational license for a Animal Breeder has the highest burden in Texas. Texas requires $400 in fees, no exams, no experience, and no education.
Where is an Animal Breeder the least regulated?
Out of the 29 states that require an occupational license, an occupational license for a Animal Breeder has the lowest burden in West Virginia. West Virginia requires $10 in fees, no exams, no experience, and no education.
Where is an Animal Breeder license the most expensive?
An occupational license for a Animal Breeder costs the most in Wisconsin. Wisconsin requires $625 in fees, no exams, no experience, and no education.
Where is an Animal Breeder license the least expensive?
An occupational license for a Animal Breeder costs the least in West Virginia. West Virginia requires $10 in fees, no exams, no experience, and no education.
Where does it take the longest to obtain an Animal Breeder license?
Out of the 29 states that require an occupational license, none impose any time lost due to required education/experience.
Where is it fastest to obtain an Animal Breeder license?
An occupational license for a Animal Breeder takes the least time to obtain in Arizona, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Illinois, Kansas, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Maryland, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, North Carolina, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Texas, Vermont, Wisconsin, West Virginia (0 days).
What states require exams for an Animal Breeder license?
To obtain an occupational license for an Animal Breeder
Twenty-eight states require a license to work as an animal breeder. On average, these laws impose $148 in fees but require no exams, experience or education, making the occupation one of the least (98th) onerously licensed of the 102 studied. However, because animal breeders are licensed by more than half of states, the occupation is the 68th most widely and onerously licensed.
Fees range from $10 in West Virginia to $625 in Wisconsin. Licensing fees also vary within a handful of states based on the type or number of animals being bred. In such cases, the least expensive license or an average fee was used, respectively.
States Ranked by Average Licensing Burden for 102 Lower-Income Occupations
More Burdensome Less BurdensomeBased on data released in November 2022
|Burden Rank||State||Occupations Licensed||Fees||Estimated Calendar Days Lost||Education||Experience||Exams||Minimum Grade||Minimum Age|
License to Work
The data and information here come from IJ’s License to Work report, released in November 2022.View Report