× ABOUT OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING OCCUPATIONS STATE PROFILES STORIES ABOUT IJ

Title Examiner

License required in 7 states

72nd most burdensome licensing requirements among moderate-income occupations

84th most heavily regulated occupation among moderate-income occupations

What They Do

Title examiners search real estate records, examine titles or summarize pertinent legal or insurance documents or details for a variety of purposes. They may compile lists of mortgages, contracts and other instruments pertaining to titles by searching public and private records for law firms, real estate agencies or title insurance companies. This report looks at what is required to run one’s own title examining business only.

Licensing

Seven states license title examiners. All states require one exam, two require one year of experience (Arkansas and Nebraska), and three set an age requirement (18 years for Arkansas and Oklahoma, and 19 years for Nebraska). Fees range from $50 in Arkansas to $825 in Nebraska. On average, these laws require $355 in fees, 104 days of experience and one exam, making title examiner the 72nd most burdensome of the 102 occupations studied here. Because so few states license title examiners, the occupation ranks as the 84th most widely and onerously licensed.

License to Work

The data and information here come from IJ’s License to Work report, released in November 2017.

States Ranked by Average Licensing Burden for 102 Lower-Income Occupations

More Burdensome Less Burdensom
Based on data released in November 2017

State Licensing Requirements

Select a chart to view:
Burden Rank State States Licensed Fees Estimated Calendar Days Lost Education Experience Exams Minimum Grade Minimum Age
1 Nebraska 7 $825 365 1 years 1 0 19
2 Arkansas 7 $50 365 1 years 1 0 18
3 Oklahoma 7 $550 0 1 0 18
4 South Dakota 7 $600 0 1 0 0
5 North Dakota 7 $220 0 1 0 0
6 Kansas 7 $150 0 1 0 0
7 Minnesota 7 $90 0 1 0 0