Taxidermist Occupational Licensing
License required in 28 states
99th most burdensome licensing requirements among moderate-income occupations
Average Fee for License:$77
What They Do
Taxidermists prepare, stuff and mount skins of animals in lifelike form.[c]Adapted from https://www.careeronestop.org/toolkit/training/find-licenses.aspx?keyword=27-1012.00&direct=0&ajax=occ&location=99&licenseid=17-232&detail=true&ES=Y&detail=true[/c]
Taxidermist Licensing Overview
Twenty-eight states (more than half of states) require a licence to work as a Taxidermist. On average, these laws require $77 in fees, 0 days of education and no exams. Taxidermist Licenses have the 99th most burdensome requirements of the 102 occupations studied.
Where is a Taxidermist the most regulated?
Out of the 28 states that require an occupational license, an occupational license for a Taxidermist has the highest burden in Maine. Maine requires $127 in fees, 2 exams, no experience, and no education.
Where is a Taxidermist the least regulated?
Out of the 28 states that require an occupational license, an occupational license for a Taxidermist has the lowest burden in Mississippi. Mississippi requires $12 in fees, no exams, no experience, and no education.
Where is a Taxidermist license the most expensive?
An occupational license for a Taxidermist costs the most in Washington. Washington requires $250 in fees, no exams, no experience, and no education.
Where is a Taxidermist license the least expensive?
An occupational license for a Taxidermist costs the least in Mississippi. Mississippi requires $12 in fees, no exams, no experience, and no education.
Where does it take the longest to obtain a Taxidermist license?
Out of the 28 states that require an occupational license, none impose any time lost due to required education/experience.
Where is it fastest to obtain a Taxidermist license?
An occupational license for a Taxidermist takes the least time to obtain in Alaska, Arizona, Connecticut, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Maryland, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, New Hampshire, Nevada, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming (0 days).
What states require exams for a Taxidermist license?
To obtain an occupational license for a Taxidermist there is at least one exam required in: Maryland, Maine. Maine requires 2 exams.
Twenty-eight states require taxidermists to have a license. Every state charges a fee—ranging from $12 in Mississippi and North Carolina to $250 in Washington ($78 on average)—and none requires any education or experience. Only two states require any exams: Maine requires two, while Maryland requires one. The average requirements for taxidermist are the 100th most burdensome of the 102 occupations studied here. However, because more than half of states license taxidermists, the occupation ranks as the 69th most widely and onerously licensed.
States Ranked by Average Licensing Burden for 102 Lower-Income Occupations
More Burdensome Less BurdensomeBased on data released in November 2022
|Burden Rank||State||Occupations Licensed||Fees||Estimated Calendar Days Lost||Education||Experience||Exams||Minimum Grade||Minimum Age|
License to Work
The data and information here come from IJ’s License to Work report, released in November 2022.View Report