Log Scaler

License required in 2 states

44th most burdensome licensing requirements among moderate-income occupations

94th most heavily regulated occupation among moderate-income occupations

What They Do

Log scalers grade logs or estimate the marketable content or value of logs or pulpwood in sorting yards, millponds, log decks or similar locations. They also inspect logs for defects or measure logs to determine volume.


Two states require a license to work as a log scaler: Idaho and Maine. Maine requires two years (730 days) of experience, a $25 fee, an exam and a minimum age of 18. Idaho, on the other hand, requires only a $25 fee and two exams. The average requirements for log scaler rank as the 44th most burdensome of the 102 occupations studied here. However, because only two states license the occupation, it is only the 94th most widely and onerously licensed.

License to Work

The data and information here come from IJ’s License to Work report, released in November 2017.

States Ranked by Average Licensing Burden for 102 Lower-Income Occupations

More Burdensome Less Burdensom
Based on data released in November 2017

State Licensing Requirements

Select a chart to view:
Burden Rank State States Licensed Fees Estimated Calendar Days Lost Education Experience Exams Minimum Grade Minimum Age
1 Maine 2 $25 730 2 years 1 0 18
2 Idaho 2 $25 0 2 0 0