× ABOUT OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING OCCUPATIONS STATE PROFILES STORIES ABOUT IJ

Bartender

License required in 13 states

84th most burdensome licensing requirements among moderate-income occupations

78th most heavily regulated occupation among moderate-income occupations

What They Do

Bartenders or mixologists mix and serve drinks to patrons directly or through waitstaff.

Licensing

Thirteen states license bartenders. On average, these laws require $7 in fees, half a day of education and about one exam. Twelve states require a short course lasting between two and five hours, and nine states require an exam. Of the 102 occupations studied, bartender has the 84th most burdensome licensing requirements and ranks as the 78th most widely and onerously licensed occupation.

License to Work

The data and information here come from IJ’s License to Work report, released in November 2017.

States Ranked by Average Licensing Burden for 102 Lower-Income Occupations

More Burdensome Less Burdensom
Based on data released in November 2017

State Licensing Requirements

Select a chart to view:
Burden Rank State States Licensed Fees Estimated Calendar Days Lost Education Experience Exams Minimum Grade Minimum Age
1 Alabama 13 $0 1 5 clock hours 1 0 21
2 Tennessee 13 $20 1 5 clock hours 1 0 18
3 New Mexico 13 $0 1 4.5 clock hours 1 0 21
4 Alaska 13 $0 1 4 clock hours 1 0 21
5 Oregon 13 $26 1 3.75 clock hours 1 0 21
6 Utah 13 $0 1 3 clock hours 1 0 21
6 Washington 13 $0 1 3 clock hours 1 0 21
8 Vermont 13 $0 1 3 clock hours 0 0 18
8 Wisconsin 13 $0 1 3 clock hours 0 0 18
10 Indiana 13 $45 0 2 clock hours 1 0 19
11 Louisiana 13 $0 0 2 clock hours 1 0 18
12 Rhode Island 13 $0 0 2 clock hours 0 0 18
13 Kansas 13 $0 0 0 0 21