Locksmith Occupational Licensing
License required in 12 states
73rd most burdensome licensing requirements among moderate-income occupations
Average Fee for License:$225
What They Do
Locksmiths repair and open locks; make keys; change locks and safe combinations; and install and repair safes.
Locksmith Licensing Overview
Twelve states require a licence to work as a Locksmith. On average, these laws require $225 in fees, 92 days of education and about 1 exam. Locksmith Licenses have the 73rd most burdensome requirements of the 102 occupations studied.
Where is a Locksmith the most regulated?
Out of the 12 states that require an occupational license, an occupational license for a Locksmith has the highest burden in New Jersey. New Jersey requires $348 in fees, 1 exams, 3 years experience, and no education.
Where is a Locksmith the least regulated?
Out of the 12 states that require an occupational license, an occupational license for a Locksmith has the lowest burden in Nevada. Nevada requires $66 in fees, no exams, no experience, and no education.
Where is a Locksmith license the most expensive?
An occupational license for a Locksmith costs the most in Illinois. Illinois requires $550 in fees, 1 exams, no experience, and 20 clock hours education.
Where is a Locksmith license the least expensive?
An occupational license for a Locksmith costs the least in Texas. Texas requires $58 in fees, no exams, no experience, and no education.
Where does it take the longest to obtain a Locksmith license?
An occupational license for a Locksmith takes the longest to obtain in New Jersey. It takes 1095 days (3 years). New Jersey requires $348 in fees, 1 exams, 3 years experience, and no education.
Where is it fastest to obtain a Locksmith license?
An occupational license for a Locksmith takes the least time to obtain in Alabama, California, Connecticut, Louisiana, North Carolina, Nevada, Oklahoma, Oregon, Texas (0 days).
What states require exams for a Locksmith license?
To obtain an occupational license for a Locksmith there is at least one exam required in: Alabama, Illinois, Louisiana, North Carolina, New Jersey, Oklahoma, Oregon, Virginia.
Fourteen states require locksmiths to obtain licenses. On average, these laws require aspiring locksmiths to pay $167 in fees, demonstrate 54 days of education and experience, and pass about one exam—the 79th most burdensome requirements of the 102 occupations studied here. The occupation is the 77th most widely and onerously licensed.
License requirements vary across states. The most burdensome state, New Jersey, requires locksmiths to prove about 732 days of education and experience (two years of experience as an apprentice and 10 hours of education), pay $217 in fees, pass an exam, be 18 years of age, and have graduated from high school. In contrast, Nebraska, the least burdensome state, requires only payment of a $5 fee.
States Ranked by Average Licensing Burden for 102 Lower-Income Occupations
More Burdensome Less BurdensomeBased on data released in November 2022
|Burden Rank||State||Occupations Licensed||Fees||Estimated Calendar Days Lost||Education||Experience||Exams||Minimum Grade||Minimum Age|
|2||Illinois||41||$550||3||20 clock hours||None||1||0||18|
|1||New Jersey||54||$348||1095||None||3 years||1||12||18|
|5||Virginia||72||$75||3||18 clock hours||None||1||0||18|
License to Work
The data and information here come from IJ’s License to Work report, released in November 2022.View Report