License required in 9 states
71st most burdensome licensing requirements among moderate-income occupations
81st most heavily regulated occupation among moderate-income occupations
What They DoDental assistants assist dentists, set up equipment, prepare patients for treatment and keep records.
Nine states license dental assistants. On average, these laws cost aspiring workers $138 in fees and 92 days in education and experience and require them to pass about one exam—the 71st most burdensome requirements of the 102 occupations studied. Because dental assistants are not very widely licensed, the occupation ranks as the 81st most widely and onerously licensed.
License requirements vary across states. Minnesota’s license is the most burdensome, requiring $681 in fees, about 425 days lost to education and three exams. California’s, by contrast, requires only about two days (10 hours) of education and no fees or exams.
States Ranked by Average Licensing Burden for 102 Lower-Income Occupations
More Burdensome Less BurdensomBased on data released in November 2017
|Burden Rank||State||States Licensed||Fees||Estimated Calendar Days Lost||Education||Experience||Exams||Minimum Grade||Minimum Age|
|2||D C||9||$190||211||1 days and 900 clock hours||0||12||18|
|3||Iowa||9||$86||185||20 clock hours||6 months||3||12||17|
|5||Massachusetts||9||$60||1||4 clock hours||0||0||18|
|6||Washington||9||$40||1||7 clock hours||0||0||0|
|9||California||9||$0||2||10 clock hours||0||0||0|