Vermont licenses 31 out of 102 lower-income occupations (more than half of the occupations included in the study) . The state’s licensing laws are about average when compared to other states. The state's licensing laws rank 31st in the nation. Vermont licensed occupations includes occupations that are rarely licensed elsewhere. Few other states license Dental Assistant (8 other).
On average, Vermont requires $194 in licensing fees, 266 days of education and about 2 exam. Fees for a license exceed $1000 for Midwife, Direct Entry.
Out of the 31 occupations that require an occupational license in Vermont, a license for Preschool Teacher, Public School has the highest burden. A Preschool Teacher, Public School license requires $368 in fees, 1 exams, 3 years experience, and 4 years of education.
Out of the 31 occupations that require an occupational license in Vermont, a license for Animal Breeder has the lowest burden. A Animal Breeder license requires $25 in fees, no exams, no experience, and no of education.
An occupational license in Vermont costs the most for Midwife, Direct Entry. A Midwife, Direct Entry license requires $1400 in fees, 1 exams, no experience, and 2 years of education.
An occupational license for in Vermont costs the least for Coach, Head (High School Sports). A Coach, Head (High School Sports) license requires $0 in fees, no exams, no experience, and 5 clock hours of education.
In Vermont, an occupational license takes the most time (due to required education/experience) for Preschool Teacher, Public School. It takes 2555 days (7 years) total. A Preschool Teacher, Public School license requires $368 in fees, 1 exams, 3 years experience, and 4 years of education.
In Vermont, an occupational license takes the least time due to required education/experience (0 days) for Bus Driver, City/Transit, Truck Driver, Tractor-Trailer, Truck Driver, Other, Vegetation Pesticide Applicator, Pest Control Applicator, Weigher, Milk Sampler, Massage Therapist, Dental Assistant, Pharmacy Technician, Landscape Contractor (Commercial), Landscape Contractor (Residential), Animal Breeder.
In Vermont, to obtain an occupational license there is at least one exam required for: Preschool Teacher, Public School, Athletic Trainer, Earth Driller, Water Well, Midwife, Direct Entry, Optician, Fire Alarm Installer, Cosmetologist, Barber, Shampooer, Makeup Artist, Skin Care Specialist, School Bus Driver, Bus Driver, City/Transit, Truck Driver, Tractor-Trailer, Truck Driver, Other, Emergency Medical Technician, Manicurist, Vegetation Pesticide Applicator, Pest Control Applicator, Security Guard, Unarmed, Milk Sampler. School Bus Driver requires 6 exams.
Vermont licenses 31 of the 102 lower-income occupations studied here—fewer than all but one other state. Its laws rank as the 28th most burdensome, requiring an average of $193 in fees, 287 days of education and experience, and around two exams. These lower-than-average burdens, combined with a lower-than-average number of occupations licensed, make Vermont the 50th most broadly and onerously licensed state—the second-best in the nation.
Despite licensing relatively few occupations, Vermont licenses several for which many other states deem licensure unnecessary. These occupations include dental assistant (licensed by eight other states), bartender (12 others), optician (21 others), weigher (24 others), animal breeder (27 others) and auctioneer (29 others).
Vermont also imposes burdens on some occupations that seem excessive compared to those for other occupations that arguably have a stronger connection to public health and safety. For example, cosmetologists must study for the better part of a year (roughly 350 days or 1,500 hours), pay $360 in fees and pass three exams to obtain a license to work. EMTs, on the other hand, must only complete less than a month of education (roughly 26 days or 110 hours) and pass two exams. Vermont could expand lower-income employment opportunities by reducing or repealing its licensing burdens for cosmetologists and other occupations, or—if government regulation is necessary—by replacing them with less restrictive regulatory alternatives such as inspections or voluntary certification.
|Burden Rank||Occupation||Number of States that License||Fees||Education/Experience (Days)||Education||Experience||Exams||Minimum Grade||Minimum Age|
|1||Preschool Teacher, Public School||50||368||2555||4 years||3 years||1||0||0|
|2||Athletic Trainer||49||490||1460||4 years||None||1||0||0|
|3||Earth Driller, Water Well||51||315||1095||None||3 years||3||0||0|
|4||Midwife, Direct Entry||37||1400||730||2 years||None||1||12||0|
|6||Fire Alarm Installer||39||180||730||2 clock hours||2 years||1||0||0|
|7||Cosmetologist||51||375||233||1000 clock hours||None||3||12||0|
|8||Barber||51||160||175||750 clock hours||None||3||12||0|
|9||Shampooer||33||100||175||750 clock hours||None||3||12||0|
|10||Makeup Artist||37||285||117||500 clock hours||None||3||12||0|
|10||Skin Care Specialist||51||285||117||500 clock hours||None||3||12||0|
|12||School Bus Driver||51||167||1||8 clock hours||None||6||0||18|
|13||Child Care Home, Family||44||20||12||54 clock hours||None||0||12||18|
|14||Bus Driver, City/Transit||51||153||0||None||None||5||0||18|
|15||Truck Driver, Tractor-Trailer||51||139||0||None||None||5||0||18|
|16||Truck Driver, Other||51||139||0||None||None||4||0||18|
|17||Emergency Medical Technician||51||98||35||150 clock hours||None||2||0||18|
|18||Manicurist||51||245||47||200 clock hours||None||3||0||0|
|19||Vegetation Pesticide Applicator||51||135||0||None||None||3||0||18|
|20||Pest Control Applicator||51||105||0||None||None||2||0||18|
|22||Coach, Head (High School Sports)||47||0||1||5 clock hours||None||0||0||18|
|23||Security Guard, Unarmed||34||85||9||40 clock hours||None||1||0||0|
|25||Auctioneer||28||100||9||40 clock hours||None||0||0||0|
|29||Landscape Contractor (Commercial)||47||30||0||None||None||0||0||0|
|29||Landscape Contractor (Residential)||48||30||0||None||None||0||0||0|
The data and information here come from IJ’s License to Work report, released in November 2022.View Report